Octavia Butler’s Parable series

Earthseed is a religion invented by science fiction author Octavia Butler and described in her books, The Parable of the Sower (1993) and The Parable of the Talents (1998). In her Parable series, Butler includes many verses from a fictional book of scripture called “The Book of the Living”. These verses have been collected here and describe the basic theology, ethics, and eschatology of Earthseed.

Earthseed’s three main tenants are –

God is Change.

Shape God.

The Destiny of Earthseed is to take root among the stars.


Return to the Table of Contents


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s